Meet Our Delegates!

With two weeks away from the 6th Annual ALAMAU conference, many of our preparations are coming to a close and we await to see how nearly 10 months of research and work unfolds. However, we are not the only ones eagerly anticipating this display: our delegates are. And in this special blog post, we will be sharing their perspectives.

Meet Melvin Malopa Yusuf Kuteesa and Nishant Mamtora, three delegates participating in ALAMAU 2019 Conference. We contacted them a few days ago to find out information about them and what exactly ALAMAU means to them.

Yusuf Kuteesa

Introduce yourself to us, what you are passionate about and which committee will you be in?


“The youth are the people of tomorrow and a firm foundation must be set to raise them to be the spectacular leaders who will create a cycle of positive change in our country and continent. “

My name is Yusuf Kuteesa, I am seventeen years old and I am Ugandan. One thing I have realized in my life is the need for a mentality shift towards focusing on the future and making the most out of the present. This explains why I am very passionate about becoming a futuristically-focused leader within my country. The youth are the people of tomorrow and a firm foundation must be set to raise them to be the spectacular leaders who will create a cycle of positive change in our country and continent.

So many young people are ignored in my country and I believe that this is wrong. It is for this reason that I aim to trail-blaze the path by becoming a young leader who empowers my fellow youth to have a say in our country’s development and decision-making. During ALAMAU 2019, I will be participating in the Executive Council.

Why ALAMAU?

I chose ALAMAU because there is virtually so much to gain at this conference. The thought a diverse collection of students from across Africa and politicians of today interacting and sharing unique perspectives is simply mind-boggling. With such an opportunity, I aspire to learn from these conversations to enhance my leadership skills for the future that I am entering. Aside from that, I also looked forward to exploring a country other than my own.

What is one thing you hope to learn from the conference?

I hope to learn how to enhance my problem-solving skills. Everyone thinks differently and we never stop learning and solving issues. Hearing diverse perspectives on the problems we face and observing how to create concrete solutions will contribute to my knowledge in effective problem-solving.

Melvin Malopa


“I also hope to see an Africa dependent on Africans. I believe that our countries are too dependent on foreign nations for things such as trade and finance, which do not enable us to be self-sufficient.”

Please tell us: who is Melvin Malopa and which committee you will be in for the ALAMAU 2019 conference?

Hello all. I am a Melvin Malopa, I am seventeen years old and I am from Malawi. This year’s conference will mark my second time attending ALAMAU. I first attended two years ago, when I was 14. This year, I will be participating in the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) Committee.

What would you like to change/introduce/improve in the African continent and will your committee help you achieve this dream?

I would like to change the mindset that many African leaders have on short-term policies that only benefit the population during their time in power. If Africa is to develop and have a positive future, this mindset has to change. I believe that my committee could help me achieve this dream as we will be discussing solutions that can exhibit long-term benefits for all African nations.
I also hope to see an Africa dependent on Africans. I believe that our countries are too dependent on foreign nations for things such as trade and finance, which do not enable us to be self-sufficient. My committee also covers this topic, as it looks into the economic advancement of the continent as a whole. I believe that from our fruitful discussions, I will gain some knowledge on how to make this dream a tangible reality.

What is one thing you are looking forward to at ALAMAU 2019?

Meeting new people, making new friends and discussing Africa’s current problems and possible solutions with people my age. It will be exciting to see things from a continental perspective as opposed to a Malawian opinion.

Nishant Mamtora

Do introduce yourself, where you are from and which committee you will be in during ALAMAU 2019?

I am Nishant Mamtora and I am originally from the UK. However, I have been living in Malawi for over 15 years and call it my home. I will be representing Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in the Executive Council Committee.

2. We understand that you are passionate about Pan-Africanism. What role does/can Pan-Africanism play in your committee?

“When that vision [Pan-Africanism] is set in place, it is easier to formulate solutions that align to make it a reality.”

Pan-Africanism is one of Africa’s main ideologies that means a lot to me. The idea that African people can unite and strengthen one another at a continental level is really a beautiful concept. I think that Pan-Africanism helps my topic, Strengthening Human Development through Improved Management of Natural Resources, envision an Africa that trades their technology among one another, reducing the factors of production and increasing economic growth. When that vision is set in place, it is easier to formulate solutions that align to make this a reality.

3. What skill do you hope to develop at ALAMAU that will help you in the future?

I hope to develop my communication and sociable skills.

And there you have it! Our delegates do seem passionate and geared to engage in helpful conversation about solutions to real issues affecting our continent.

If you are a hearing about ALAMAU for the first time or you are anticipating this year’s conference, stay glued to our social media pages (listed below) and this awesome blog page for more updates on what is new and happening. Also, feel free to scroll through our other interesting articles for a glimpse from engaging perspectives from this beautiful continent of ours!
We personally recommend Samantha Nyakundi’s Women, Sports and Development and Laila Bera’s Delegate Preparation Guide.

Have a lovely week ahead!

The Press Corps Team.

Edited and Compiled by Katai Mutale, Director of Press Corps, ALAMAU 2019

FOLLOW US ON:

FACEBOOK- AFRICAN LEADERSHIP ACADEMY MODEL AFRICAN UNION
INSTAGRAM–@alamau2019
TWITTER–@alamau2019

One thought on “Meet Our Delegates!

Leave a comment